Saying “Yes!” to Self-Love in Relationships

A Must Read book by Don Miguel Ruiz - The 4 Agreements.
A Must Read book by Don Miguel Ruiz – The 4 Agreements.

“Love and respect yourself. Don’t take anything personally.” – Don Miguel Ruiz

By Debra Moffitt

A friend said to me recently that a man she loves tried to engage her in his self-destructive behavior. She said, “No.” And she turned to me and said, “I heard a voice in my head that said, “I love myself. I will not get involved with him and the painful things he does.” She put her fist in the air and said, “When I heard myself say that, I went ‘YES!'”

That step into self-love and respect marks a big leap. How exciting!

I know another person who is obsessed with being accepted by others. He tries to be what he thinks others want him to be. He tries to do what pleases others too. But he ends up not pleasing anyone. Not even himself.

With self-love (not selfish love!) the heart comes home to itself and guides the way. No one can be all things to all people, but when you follow the Heart, you can’t go wrong. When love lies at the core of all your actions things come into a natural balance.

Leave a Reply

